Effective manager

It is our belief that a strong and effective leader who motivates and inspires their team is a key factor in successful business development. That is why we emphasized the development of managers, improving their leadership skills and the relevant expertise in the Strategy for 2020. At the same time, the requirements on leaders have also increased: we expect our managers to be accountable not only for the work results, but also for the development of the team and for the promotion and propagation of corporate culture at Sberbank.

Change in leadership style

The type of leadership has changed together with the development of corporate culture at Sberbank. The results of a recent employee engagement survey performed at the Bank show that over the past two years managers have curtailed the use of the top-down management style and begun to rely more on a new leadership style that is effective over the long term and promotes employee engagement: a companionable, mentoring and visionary style (emotional support and good relations within the team, support for development, questions instead of ready answers, answer to the question “why”?).

In the Strategy for 2020, a Sberbank manager is:
  • model is a model of compliance with the values of the Bank's corporate culture
  • leader inspires the team, sets clear goals and priorities, creates an atmosphere of psychological security, openness and trust, encourages the treatment of errors as a valuable experience
  • mentor is a mentor: develops themselves and their team through constant feedback supports the development of their employees on a daily basis, showing a mentoring management style.

Development of managers

We actively cultivate a training format that allows managers and specialists to share their expertise, hold training based on real-world models and using the Bank’s tools, and increase internal proficiencies. We paid close attention in 2017 to the development in managers of the skills set forth in the new competence model, and established new training programs at Sberbank Corporate University.

Most important training and career development programs for Sberbank managers
Program Summary of goals and the skills being developed Number of employees who received training in 2017
Executive Development Program Aimed at building the managerial and professional knowledge and skills required by a modern world-class leader 55
Sberbank 500 Aimed at providing middle managers with the knowledge and skills required for successful performance of their duties during the digital transformation of Sberbank. Implemented with an emphasis on the three focal points of the Sberbank Strategy: technology, structural transformation, team and culture 320
Sberbank Mini-MBA Aimed at providing line managers with a set of management skills and knowledge in line with the corporate competence model, and singling out highly talented managers for further career growth 568
Branch manager workshop Aimed at developing the professional knowledge of managers regarding banking products and technologies, forming people management skills, learning the tools to manage the experience and emotional reactions of clients and employees 8,989
Corporate culture and emotional intelligence Gives managers tools to increase self-awareness and emotion management, allowing to build in the teams the atmosphere of trust and the culture of cooperation necessary to advance the priority directions of the development of the corporate culture and implement the Bank's strategy 5,250
Training program of the Academy of Technology and Data of Sberbank Corporate University The Academy was created to reach the technological goals of Sberbank’s Strategy: developing the most sought-after competencies in information technology and providing access to courses and materials on topics such as: IТ, Data Science, Data Engineering, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence 5,022

Assessment and promotion of managers

Sberbank has various systems for assessment of managers, which are used to give them feedback on their work and to construct plans for their development and advancement up the career ladder. The key tools for assessing managers are:

  • 360° performance assessment method (survey of the managers, subordinates and colleagues of an employee to assess the level of development of their expertise): with the introduction of Success Factors, the system was expanded to include all Bank employees at the end of 2017 – start of 2018;
  • assessment of a manager’s NPS (survey of the subordinates of a manager to receive feedback on their skills as a team leader): this tool was introduced and tested on 600 bank managers in 2017, and in early 2018 was made available to all managers through Success Factors;
  • the Team system of continuous feedback, which makes it possible to give feedback on and request feedback from colleagues on the demonstration of values and progress in the development of competencies. More than two thousand managers at the Bank use the Team system.

Managers at various levels go before annual personnel commissions for the collective discussion of the work results and compliance with the culture of the bank.. The HiPo management talent pool is formed and decisions on the promotion of managers are taken based on their results.

Succession

To ensure the Bank’s uninterrupted operations and the maintenance of internal expertise, succession planning is performed for management positions. Employees with high potential are identified, and are given the required knowledge and experience. The succession pool is formed based on employee assessments by the personnel commissions. In 2017 a Talent Pool was formed for managers of sixteenth grade and above.

Эффективный руководитель

Мы считаем, что сильный и эффективный лидер, мотивирующий и вдохновляющий свою команду, является одним из главных факторов успешного развития бизнеса. Поэтому в Стратегии 2020 сделан акцент на развитии руководителей, совершенствовании их лидерских качеств и целевых компетенций. Параллельно возросли и требования к лидерам: мы ожидаем от руководителей, что они будут отвечать не только за результат работы, но также и за развитие команд, за внедрение и распространение корпоративной культуры в Сбербанке.

Изменение стиля лидерства

С развитием корпоративной культуры в Сбербанке меняется тип лидерства. Как показывают результаты недавнего опроса вовлеченности сотрудников банка, за последние два года руководители стали реже использовать директивный стиль лидерства и чаще стали использовать лидерские стили, эффективные в долгосрочной перспективе и способствующие росту вовлеченности сотрудников: товарищеский (эмоциональная поддержка и хорошие отношения в команде), наставнический стиль (поддержка в развитии, вопросы вместо готовых ответов) и визионерский (ответ на вопрос «Зачем?»).

В Стратегии 2020 руководитель в Сбербанке:
  • Образец в своем поведении является образцом соответствия ценностям корпоративной культуры банка
  • Лидер вдохновляет команду, ставит четкие цели и приоритеты, создает атмосферу психологической безопасности, открытости и доверия, поощряет отношение к ошибкам как к ценному опыту
  • Наставник является наставником: развивает себя и свою команду через непрерывную обратную связь, оказывает поддержку развитию своих сотрудников на ежедневной основе, проявляя наставнический стиль управления

Развитие руководителей

Мы активно развиваем форматы обучения, позволяющие руководителям и специалистам обмениваться опытом, проводить обучение на реальных моделях и инструментах банка, умножать внутреннюю экспертизу. В 2017 году мы уделили особое внимание развитию в руководителях навыков в соответствии с новой моделью компетенций, а также разработали новые обучающие программы в Корпоративном университете Сбербанка.

Наиболее значимые программы обучения и профессионального развития руководителей Сбербанка
Название программы Краткое описание целей и развиваемых навыков Количество сотрудников, прошедших обучение в 2017 году
Программа развития руководителей высшего звена Направлена на формирование управленческих и профессиональных знаний и навыков современного руководителя мирового класса 55
Сбербанк 500 Направлена на формирование у руководителей среднего звена знаний и навыков, необходимых для успешной реализации задач в условиях цифровой трансформации Сбербанка. Реализуется с упором на три фокусные темы Стратегии Сбербанка: технологии, структурная трансформация, команда и культура 320
Сбербанк Мини-МВА Направлена на развитие у линейных руководителей набора управленческих знаний и навыков в соответствии с корпоративной моделью компетенций, а также на выявление высокопотенциальных руководителей для дальнейшего карьерного роста 568
Мастерская руководителя ВСП Направлена на развитие у руководителей профессиональных знаний в области банковских продуктов и технологий, формирование навыков управления людьми, освоение инструментов управления впечатлениями и эмоциональными реакциями клиентов и сотрудников 8 989
Корпоративная культура и эмоциональный интеллект Дает руководителям инструменты повышения самоосознанности и управления эмоциями, позволяющие формировать в командах атмосферу доверия и культуру сотрудничества, необходимые для продвижения приоритетных направлений развития корпоративной культуры и реализации стратегии банка 5 250
Программы обучения Академии Технологий и Данных Корпоративного университета Сбербанка Академия создана для поддержки реализации технологических целей Стратегии Сбербанка: развивает наиболее востребованные компетенции в области информационных технологий и предоставляет доступ к курсам и материалам по таким темам как: IТ, Data Science, Data Engineering, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence 5 022

Оценка и продвижение руководителей

В Сбербанке действуют различные системы оценки руководителей, с помощью которых они получают обратную связь о своей работе, формируют планы своего развития и продвигаются по карьерному пути. Ключевыми инструментами оценки руководителей являются:

  • оценка компетенций методом 360 (опрос руководителей, подчиненных и коллег сотрудника для оценки уровня развития компетенций): с внедрением Success Factors система была распространена на всех сотрудников банка в конце 2017 – начале 2018 года;
  • оценка NPS руководителя (опрос подчиненных руководителя для получения обратной связи по его навыкам как лидера команды): инструмент был внедрен и апробирован на 600 руководителях банка в 2017 году, в начале 2018 года стал доступен всем руководителям банка в Success Factors;
  • система непрерывной обратной связи Team, позволяющая в любой момент времени давать и запрашивать у коллег обратную связь о проявлении ценностей и прогрессе в развитии компетенций. Пользователями Team являются более 2 тыс. руководителей в банке.

Руководители различного уровня проходят ежегодные кадровые комиссии, на которых происходит коллегиальное обсуждение результатов деятельности и соответствия культуре банка. По их итогам формируется пул высокопотенциальных руководителей и принимаются решения об их продвижении.

Преемственность

Для обеспечения непрерывности деятельности банка и сохранения внутренней экспертизы ведется планирование преемственности для руководящих должностей. Выявляются сотрудники, обладающие значимым потенциалом, им передаются необходимые знания и опыт. Пул преемников формируется по итогам прохождения руководителями кадровых комиссий. В 2017 году был сформирован Кадровый резерв на уровне руководителей 16 грейда и выше.