Leadership in cybersecurity

In the days ahead, technology will change the pattern of our lives and cybersecurity will play a key role in economic development Ensuring successful cybersecurity is 80% dependent on the correct organization of processes, and only 20% dependent on technology.

We are constantly improving our processes to guarantee cybersecurity. The professionals of Sberbank’s security service work 24/7 collecting and analyzing crucial information on instances of fraud aimed at the Bank and its clients. In 2017 desktop training exercises were successfully performed on recovery from a global malware attack on the Bank.

The data accumulated, the high level of professionalism of our specialists, the use of innovative technologies, and our ongoing cooperation with law enforcement agencies all help to thwart the activities of hacker groups at a very early stage.

The Security Operation Center (SOC)

The Security Operation Center (SOC) of Sberbank received ISO/IEC 27001:2013 Information Security Management Systems certification during the reporting year. We became the first bank in Russia to receive this recognition at the international level.

One area of our work is the fight with phishing attacks. Financial online services, have long since become the main target for phishing attacks, and this trend is only strengthening. At the initiative of Sberbank’s Security Operation Center, more than 600 domain names used in phishing attacks, around 200 fraudulent platforms and more than 1.3 thousand websites distributing malware have been detected and closed in Russian internet-space.

We actively support outside initiatives, including those of the state authorities, to develop cybersecurity skills For example, in 2017 Sberbank was entrusted with heading the Cybersecurity Center of Excellence’s information security direction as part of the Digital Economy program of the Russian Federation.

An important event in 2017 was the launch of the Cybersecurity Academy. Sberbank Corporate University hosted a two-day seminar entitled “The Role of Cybersecurity in Digital Organizations”. The seminar was attended by representatives of work groups from the Russian government’s Digital Economy program, tech companies, universities, and Sberbank subsidiaries.

We believe that education is extremely important when it comes to cybersecurity. Security specialists are often not taught IT technologies, and IT specialists are not told about security. The goal of our Academy is to ensure comprehensive cybersecurity training and to improve our expertise.

Global Center for Cybersecurity

Sberbank supported the creation of the Global Center for Cybersecurity under the auspices of the World Economic Forum, set up to reduce the adverse effect of improper activity in the Internet. According to experts, the global economy’s annual losses from cybercrime may be as high as USD 500 billion.

We participated in the discussion and formation of the principles for creating the Center, which was officially opened in Davos on January 25, 2018. Our strategic partnership with the Global Center for Cybersecurity was a serious step forward in cementing the Bank’s position as a committed combatant against international cybercrime. We hope that the Center will assume the role of a unique platform for expanding collaboration between the public and private sectors in three key areas:

The development of a system to prevent cyber fraud will continue in 2018–2020, to ensure 100% protection of all Sberbank’s client service channels. We plan to develop and implement a unified authentication service and our own digital signature service. We also plan to introduce a unified Cybersecurity Fusion Center, which will include artificial intelligence, machine learning and big data technologies to guarantee centralized cybersecurity management of the Sberbank Group.

The Cybersecurity Service will carry on developing international relations, will propose new formats for the Cybersecurity Academy’s programs, and will form and introduce new cybersecurity services to the market.

There are no borders between states for cybercriminals and hackers. They act on a global scale, which means that we must continue to boost cooperation between governments and organizations around the world.

Лидерство в кибербезопасности

В ближайшее время технологии изменят парадигму нашей жизни, и кибербезопасность будет играть ключевую роль в развитии экономики. При этом 80% успеха при обеспечении кибербезопасности зависит от того, насколько правильно выстроены процессы, и только 20% — от технологий.

Мы постоянно совершенствуем наши процессы по обеспечению кибербезопасности. Эксперты службы безопасности Сбербанка в режиме 24/7 проводят сбор и анализ наиболее значимой информации по фактам мошенничества, совершаемым в отношении банка и его клиентов. В 2017 году успешно проведены командно-штабные учения по устранению глобальной вирусной атаки на банк.

Накопленные данные, высокий профессионализм наших специалистов, использование инновационных технологий, а также постоянное сотрудничество с правоохранительными органами помогают пресекать деятельность кибермошеннических группировок на самых ранних этапах.

Центр управления кибербезопасностью

В отчетном году Центр управления кибербезопасностью (SOC – Security Operation Center) Сбербанка получил сертификат соответствия международному стандарту ISO/IEC 27001:2013 Системы менеджмента информационной безопасности. Мы стали первым банком в России, обладающим подобным уровнем признания на международном уровне.

Одним из направлений нашей работы является борьба с фишинговыми атаками. Уже давно целью номер один для фишинговых атак стали финансовые онлайн-сервисы, и эта тенденция только укрепляется. По инициативе Службы кибербезопасности Сбербанка с начала года в российском интернет-пространстве было выявлено и закрыто свыше 600 доменных имен, использовавшихся для фишинговых атак, около 200 мошеннических площадок и более 1300 сайтов, распространявших вредоносное программное обеспечение.

Мы активно поддерживаем инициативы внешнего сообщества, в том числе государственных органов, в области развития компетенций по кибербезопасности. Так, в 2017 году Сбербанку доверили возглавить Центр компетенций по направлению «Информационная безопасность» в рамках реализации программы Правительства России «Цифровая экономика Российской Федерации».

Значимым событием 2017 года стал запуск Академии Кибербезопасности. В Корпоративном университете Сбербанка прошел двухдневный семинар «Роль кибербезопасности в цифровой организации». В семинаре приняли участие представители программы Правительства России «Цифровая экономика», технологических компаний, вузов и дочерних компаний Сбербанка.

Мы считаем, что образование в сфере кибербезопасности очень важно. Зачастую специалистов по безопасности не учат IT-технологиями и при этом IT-специалистами ничего не рассказывают про безопасность. Поэтому цель нашей Академии – обеспечить комплексное обучение по кибербезопасности, а также усилить наши компетенции.

Глобальный центр по кибербезопасности

Сбербанк активно поддержал инициативу по созданию Глобального центра по кибербезопасности под эгидой Всемирного экономического форума с целью уменьшения негативного влияния злоумышленных действий в сети. По мнению экспертов, ежегодные потери мировой экономики в результате действий киберпреступников могут достигать 500 млрд долларов США. Мы приняли участие в обсуждении и формировании принципов создания данного центра, официальное открытие которого состоялось в Давосе 25 января 2018 года. Стратегическое партнерство с Глобальным центром стало серьезным шагом вперед в укреплении позиций нашего банка как активного борца с международной киберпреступностью. Мы надеемся, что центр возьмет на себя роль уникальной платформы по взаимодействию государственного и частного секторов, развитие которой будет происходить по трем ключевым направлениям:

В 2018–2020 годах продолжится развитие системы противодействия кибермошенничеству с целью обеспечить 100% защиту всех каналов обслуживания клиентов Сбербанка. Планируется разработка и внедрение единого сервиса аутентификации и собственного сервиса цифровой подписи, а также создание единого Cybersecurity Fusion Centre, в котором будут внедрены технологии искусственного интеллекта, машинного обучения и больших данных для обеспечения централизованного управления кибербезопасностью Группы Сбербанк.

Служба кибербезопасности продолжит развивать международные отношения, предложит новые форматы программы Академии кибербезопасности, а также будет развивать и выводить на рынок новые услуги в сфере кибербезопасности.

Для киберпреступников и хакеров не существует границ между государствами. Они действуют в глобальном масштабе. Это значит, что мы должны продолжать наращивать сотрудничество между правительствами и организациями по всему миру.